Follow Us: Instagram | Facebook

Top state medalists from throughout Delaware represented Delaware at the National Technology Student Association (TSA) conference held in Atlanta, Georgia on June 22-26, 2018.  Students competed with national finalists in events such as computer-aided design; dragster design; engineering, inventions & innovations; leadership strategies; manufacturing prototype; medical technology; on-demand video; promotional graphics; structural engineering; system control technology; video game design; VEX robotics, website design and more. The conference was the largest in TSA history, with more than 8,000 individuals in attendance from across the country. It was also the largest national attendance in Delaware TSA history with 127 members participating in the Science, Technology, Engineering, Math (STEM); leadership; and service focused events.

Highlights include:

  • Delaware students earned eleven (11) top ten national honors.
  • William Grieder of Cab Calloway School Of The Arts and Jeff Epting of Gauger-Cobbs Middle School were honored as Chapter Advisors of the Year
  • Caesar Rodney High School, H.B. duPont Middle School and MOT Charter School were recognized for Chapter Excellence
  • Apuroop Mutyala and Tyler Rouwhorst from MOT Charter School,  Connor Wagaman of Concord High School, Rishi Gundakaram of Caesar Rodney High School, and Skyler Brand of Lake Forest High School were inducted into the TSA Technology Honor Society.
  • Apuroop Mutyala of MOT Charter School, Adhi Babu, Mithra Sankar, Mythili Satheesh, and Reece Hamlet from H.B. duPont Middle School earned the Gold TSA Professionalism Award

Delaware’s Results:

Place Contest Name(s) School
2 Prepared Speech Shira Beals Cab Calloway School Of The Arts (MS)
4 Promotional Marketing Jessica Williams Cab Calloway School Of The Arts (MS)
4 Website Design Will Lambert, Kirti Daga, Grace Hite, Arundhati Dole, Mia Xie, Ashley Bao Cab Calloway School Of The Arts (MS)
4 CAD Engineering Patrick Taylor Cab Calloway School Of The Arts (HS)
6 Children’s Stories  Michaela Somers,   Olivia Knestaut , Andrew Iskandar, Sara Wien, Will Lambert, Sarah Kupchik Cab Calloway School Of The Arts (MS)
7 Children’s Stories  Meilin Morris, Michelle Mai, Samra Iqbal Postlethwait Middle School
8 Challenging Technology Issues  Olivia Knestaut , Molly Gerard Cab Calloway School Of The Arts (MS)
8 Coding  Ashley Bao, Arundhati Dole Cab Calloway School Of The Arts (MS)
8 Technology Problem Solving  Adam Hanna, Meghana Yarlagadda Caesar Rodney High School (HS)
9 System Control Technology  Sarah Kupchik,  Riley Burns, Sakhi Grewal Cab Calloway School Of The Arts (MS)
9 Debating Technological Issues  Apuroop Mutyala, Divita Taduvavi MOT Charter School (HS)


Participating Schools:

  • Cab Calloway School Of The Arts (HS)
  • Cab Calloway School Of The Arts (MS)
  • Caesar Rodney High School
  • Fifer Middle School
  • Gauger-Cobbs Middle School
  • Henry C. Conrad Schools of Science (HS)
  • Indian River High School
  • Lake Forest High School
  • MOT Charter School (HS)
  • Newark Charter High School
  • Postlethwait Middle School
  • Seaford Senior High School
  • Sussex Central High School

The Technology Student Association (TSA) is a Career and Technical Student Organization (CTSO) dedicated to students interested in the future of invention, innovation, engineering, and technology. Through TSA, members have the opportunity to participate in technology-focused competitive events, take part in community service work, and become leaders for the organization in their school, state, and at the national level. TSA incorporates curricular and co-curricular experiences to emphasize the importance of knowledge, leadership, skill development, and teamwork.

To learn more about DETSA, please contact Mike Fitzgerald by phone at: 302.735.4015 or by email at: [email protected].