Follow Us: Instagram | Facebook

Delaware students bring home top honors from national technology conference


Students from across Delaware recently represented the First State as part of the Delaware Technology Student Association at the 35th Annual National Technology Student Association Conference in Orlando, many bringing home awards for Top 10 finishes. Seventy students competed in 94 individual and 66 team events that were focused on technology, innovation, design and engineering. Delaware students competed in events such as CAD, dragster design, engineering, inventions & innovations, leadership strategies, manufacturing prototype, on demand video, promotional graphics, structural engineering, system control technology, technical sketching and application, video game design, vex robotics and website design.

At the July 2 awards ceremony, Delaware high school and middle school students received honors for placing in the top 10 nationwide in their respective events.

“Congratulations to these Delaware students, who competed with more than 5,000 peers from throughout the world in events focused on technology, innovation, design and engineering,” Secretary of Education Mark Murphy said. “These are the future leaders of our state in these important fields, and I am proud of them for their hard work that has led to these accomplishments.”


Conference honors and highlights

  • Brandywine School District’s Concord High School and Caesar Rodney School District’s Postlethwait Middle School were named for Chapter Excellence
  • Delaware was honored as the state with the highest fundraising of $86,771 for the American Cancer Society’s Relay For Life
  • Jessica Harris of Seaford School District’s Seaford Senior High School was recognized with the Gold TSA Achievement award
  • Jim Medved of Caesar Rodney’s Postlethwait Middle School and Kathryn Sheehy of Red Clay Consolidated School District’s Dickinson High School were named Chapter Advisors of the Year

National Competitive Results

2nd Place – Digital Photography, Katheryn Hartley – Postlethwait Middle School (Caesar Rodney)
3rd Place – Website Design, Postlethwait Middle School  (Caesar Rodney)
4th Place – Digital Photography Johnny Bui, Postlethwait Middle School (Caesar Rodney)
4th Place – System Control Technology – P. S. duPont Middle School (Brandywine)
4th Place – Technology Problem Solving, Mount Pleasant High School (Brandywine)
5th Place – On Demand Video, Cab Calloway School of the Arts (Red Clay Consolidated)
7th Place – Electrical Applications, Patrick Taylor – P. S. duPont Middle School (Brandywine)
7th Place – Structural Engineering, Conrad Schools of Science (Red Clay Consolidated)
7th Place – Manufacturing Prototype, Concord High School (Brandywine)
7th Place – System Control Technology, Charter School of Wilmington (Red Clay Consolidated)
8th Place – Technology Problem Solving, Postlethwait Middle School (Caesar Rodney)
8th Place – Tech Bowl, P. S. duPont Middle School (Brandywine)
8th Place – Techno Talk, Postlethwait Middle School (Caesar Rodney)
9th Place – Dragster Design, Jessica Harris – Seaford Senior High School (Seaford)
9th Place – Community Service Video, Postlethwait Middle School (Caesar Rodney)
10th Place – Webmaster, Cab Calloway School of the Arts (Red Clay Consolidated)

Participating Delaware schools includedIMG_0705

  • Brandywine High School (Brandywine)
  • Cab Calloway School of the Arts (Red Clay Consolidated)
  • Caesar Rodney High School (Caesar Rodney)
  • Charter School of Wilmington (Red Clay Consolidated)
  • Concord High School (Brandywine)
  • Delmar High School (Delmar)
  • Gauger-Cobbs Middle School (Christina)
  • Conrad School of Science (Red Clay Consolidated)
  • Lake Forest High School (Lake Forest)
  • MOT Charter School (charter)
  • Mount Pleasant High School (Brandywine)
  • P.S. duPont Middle School  (Brandywine)
  • Postlethwait Middle School (Caesar Rodney)
  • Seaford Senior High School (Seaford)

For more information about the National Technology Student Association (TSA), please visit the homepage at or contact Lynda Haitz at [email protected]. TSA is a non-profit organization with 150,000 members. Its goal is to promote technological literacy and leadership. Students learn problem-solving, decision-making, and critical thinking skills as they relate to technology. For more information about the Delaware Technology Student Association, please visit the homepage at  or contact Delaware TSA State Advisor Mike Fitzgerald at [email protected] or 302.857.3334.


Click here to view our Photo Gallery!

Archived Downloads

2013 National TSA Conference Agenda (Updated June 11, 2013)
2013 National TSA Conference Forms

2013 National TSA Conference Workbook